Recognising the significant achievements by individuals and aquatic facilities

About the Awards


2019 marks the third year of the National Aquatic Industry Safety Awards, an initiative of the Royal Life Saving Society - Australia and the National Aquatic Industry Safety Committee to recognise the people within the industry who dedicate their time to make their community safer.


By celebrating the outstanding safety initiatives by individuals and organisations, Royal Life Saving aim to inspire others within the industry to review their own initiatives and develop new strategies to increase water safety in their community.


Videos will be developed for each category winner to share the story of the impact they have made, and launched through an online media campaign with winners announced consecutively  in August / September 2019

Nominations Close Wednesday 5th June 2019

Nominations Now Open for 2019
Award Categories
Click each category to view the description and judging criteria and to nominate

Winners of these categories are automatically considered the finalists for the following:

Most Outstanding Contribution by an Aquatic Facility

Most Outstanding Contribution by an Individual


A panel comprising representatives from the National Aquatic Industry Safety Committee will judge the entries. Judges will make their decisions based solely on the material provided by entrants.


Entrants should not expect feedback from the judging panel about their entry. Finalists will be selected in each category and notified by Royal Life Saving Australia and a specific film crew will visit the location of each individual / aquatic facility to film a special presentation piece for each of the finalists. Many factors are taken into account, such as (in no specific order):

  • Impact

  • Public benefit

  • Ethics

  • Originality

  • Creative flair

  • Safety

Announcement and Presentation

Each category winner will be announced  through an online media campaign from the  as well as at a range of industry events within each state/territory.

Winners of each category and on the discretion of the judging panel (highly commended) will be presented with a notable award, which will be given at a significant industry event within their area.


Winners will also feature as part of a series of special presentations across the country that will promote their aquatic facility and its great work. Aquatic Facility Managers will also receive copies of marketing material to promote via their websites, social media, notice boards and even the big screen if you have one.