Your one stop shop for aquatic industry news
  • Royal Life Saving

Melbourne debuts as host of World Para Swimming World Series 2019

The 2019 World Para Swimming Series will be the largest in Para Swimming history. The series will take place over eight countries, four continents and for the first time begin in Melbourne in February.

Beside Australia, Netherlands and Singapore will also be making their debut as contenders for World Series hosts. Germany, USA and Sao Paulo will also be present as founding hosts since 2017.

World Para-Swimming Manager, Tracy Glassford said ““The World Series was created to bring multiple opportunities to swimmers around the world, with a regular competition calendar for the elite athletes and, at the same time, a stage for young swimmers. World Para Swimming is pleased to announce that next year’s World Series will be the biggest ever,”.

“We would like to thank the athletes, coaches, National Paralympic Committees and Organising Committees which helped making the 2018 World Series a huge success. We had more than 1,000 swimmers from 72 countries competing.”

Swimming Australia’s General Manager of Paralympic Programs Adam Pine commented “it is a great opportunity for Melbourne and for Paralympic swimming in this country to have the opening event of the World Series hosted in Australia.

“The meet will provide valuable racing experience for our athletes and will bring many other athletes from all over the world to our shores.” Pine also said the event will deliver an outstanding opportunity for Australian athletes to be classified on the international stage.

All competing athletes’ results at each World Series event are calculated using a standardised points system via an online virtual competition platform. Subsequently the World Series winner will be the best performing athlete over the duration of the series, meaning every performance counts.

The 2019 World Para Swimming World Series calendar:

• Melbourne - 15th to 17th February • Netherlands - March TBC • Indianapolis, USA - 4th to 6th April • Glasgow, Great Britain - 25th to 28th March • Sao Paulo, Brazil - 26th to 28th April • Singapore - 10th to 12th May

For more information

Related Items