Your one stop shop for aquatic industry news
  • Royal Life Saving

TAE40116 Upgrade Information

From 1st April 2019 the credential requirements for trainers and assessors change.

In order to continue delivering AQF accredited training there are two options for Trainers/Assessors - and for the RTOs that use their services:

Option 1: Meet the new credential requirements for TAE40110 by gaining the two new core units:

  • TAEASS502 Design and develop assessment tools

  • TAELLN411 Address adult language, literacy and numeracy skills

By doing this the Trainer/Assessor will receive a Statement of Attainment for these two units. They will be able to continue training/assessing after 1st April 2019 but will not have achieved TAE40116.

Option 2: Upgrade from TAE40110 to TAE40116. This requires completion of the two new core units, listed above, and upgrading of the two units that were deemed ‘not equivalent’. The units are:

  • TAEASS401 Plan assessment activities and processes (previously TAEASS401B)

  • TAEASS403 Participate in assessment validation (previously TAEASS403B)

The upgrade can be done via an RPL process and there are various providers offering an RPL upgrade course/process. It typically requires providing the following evidence:

  • Your TAE40110 qualification and transcript of units

  • Evidence that you have participated in recent professional development to improve your skills as a trainer, assessor or learning designer

  • 3 assessment plans and associated instruments

  • An assessment validation report

Related Items